The time has finally come for Google to start deleting inactive accounts. Under the company’s new account policy, accounts that haven’t been used in at least two years could be deleted starting Friday, which means you’re going to want to log into your account if it’s been a while.
The he upcoming purge is being attributed to updated security issues as accounts that haven’t been used in a while are more likely to be hackable. The company notes that “forgotten or unattended accounts” tend to have old passwords without two-factor authentication. And because of this, they’re more vulnerable to things like “malicious” content and identity theft.
Don’t feel like logging into your account? Two other ways the company says you can keep your old account from getting deleted are using Google search and watching YouTube videos while signed into your Google account.
photo: getty images